Look at the blog, Larry. Just look at that blog.

This is gonna be about Band-Aids. It's pretty great.

#51. The ancient art of paper Band-Aiding.

leave a comment »

Would it surprise you if I said I was actually really good at origami?

It would surprise me.

I used to do it all the time when I was but a lad. Cranes, ladybugs, boxes, you name it. I origami’d all the origami you could shake a finely crafted paper stick at. And then I remembered the very first day we learned about Project 54. That guy who made all the skulls. Secretly (okay, not so secretly), I hate him, considering that it was his skulls that led me down this point of no return. This point of no Band-Aid-shaped return.

But I remembered he made a papercraft skull. And he printed out the pattern and a whole bunch of people made it. My origami days came back to me. I knew what I had to do.

So I made a terrible, awful Band-Aid out of paper. It was huge, and uneven, and horrible, and it made me cry. I used printer paper, ‘cuz that was all I could find, and it was thick and clunky and I hate it.

So I tried again. This time it actually came out okay. I learned from my mistakes. Folded right where before I had only folded wrong. This time, my creation looks like a Band-Aid. it’s still printer paper. It’s still… not great. The important thing is, now I know that, in a dire situation, I can totally make my own giant useless printer-paper Band-Aids in less than eight minutes. It’s an important skill.

I will end this on two points.

Point #1. I forgot how much fun this is and I’m totally going to go out and buy a ‘baby’s first origami’ book so I can re-learn some of this stuff.

Point #2. I forgot to show you my paper Band-Aids. Here they are, in all of their majestic wonderment.

First times are hard. This Band-Aid is unquestionable proof of that.

Conveniently, though, I'm a fast learner.

Written by mandudeman

May 4, 2011 at 3:55 pm

Leave a comment