Look at the blog, Larry. Just look at that blog.

This is gonna be about Band-Aids. It's pretty great.

#43. Just look how far we’ve come

leave a comment »

This post is going to be something special. Something extraordinary, even. You see, it’s not often that I come across something so profound, so wonderful, that it changes my worldview in ways that would destroy a weaker, more fragile mind.

If you have a weak stomach, please turn away.

Please. It’s for your own good.

Okay now that everyone’s stopped reading and started doing something constructive with their time, here’s the scoop:

They make plastic packaging that’s not impossible to open.

Amazing, no? So here’s how I got started on all this. I was taking some super-terrific pictures of Band-Aids for this blog, but afterward I left the SD card in my Macbook during several shutdowns/restarts. Apparently, repeatedly doing this can, on occasion, lead to slight side-effects like the memory card being reduced to a useless piece of dull plastic.

Never fear, though. I bought a new one. But as I contemplated the packaging, fear set in. It was wrapped in thick plastic, like a Mace Windu action figure, or some kind of electric shave-razor. You know the packaging I’m talking about. You can cut it with scissors, but all you can really do is mangle the plastic so much that it becomes a razor-sharp hedge maze of crying and wallpapering my hand with Band-Aids. Naturally, I was upset.

BUT WAIT

THERE’S MORE

I spotted a dotted line running across the top of the box. There was a little picture of a scissor next to it. After applying every ounce of knowledge in my college-educated brain to this problem, I finally chewed through the dotted line with my front teeth and watched the box open up like some kind of magic pirate gold chest. The SD card fell right into my hand. Angels sang. The clouds opened. A beautiful golden light rained down upon me. I retook the four pictures I had lost with the old card.

This is the greatest thing humankind will ever come up with.

All thanks to the progress from  Kingston Technologies. Progress that keeps jagged plastic shards from shredding my hand into deli meat and me having to restructure my whole hand with Band-Aids.

Written by mandudeman

May 3, 2011 at 10:07 pm

Posted in Week 12: Progress

Leave a Reply

