Look at the blog, Larry. Just look at that blog.

This is gonna be about Band-Aids. It's pretty great.

#40. Ring around the Band-Aid, pocket full of… Band-Aid.

leave a comment »

What exactly is a promise ring? I feel like it’s some sort of antique 1950’s tradition where you give a ring to your best girl as a promise that you two’ll be going steady forever. But I have no idea if that’s true. I’m actually just gonna Google it.

And after a quick googling, we’ve got four basic definitions of ‘promise ring’:

1. A terrible rock band from Milwaukee that broke up in 2002.

2. The debut single by R&B singer Tiffany Evans.

3. A ‘pre-engagement’ ring, signifying a monogamous relationship.

4. A ring signifying a pledge of abstinence until marriage.

Let’s stick to definition number three. Which, as it turns out, was actually kinda close to the weird, American Graffiti-esque fantasies I had carousing through my brain.

Now my original plan was to wear a Band-Aid on my ring finger for a week, as if it was some kind of promise ring, and then when I took it off it’d look like I just got divorced, ‘cuz there’d be a little band of tan-lined Band-Aid goodness and it would be, like, totally realistic. And in theory, I could have easily done this, because I wrote the first half of this entry a week ago and then forgot about it. Plus, I hold the world record for ‘Most Upsettlingly Pale Skin-Tone,’ so it would only take about six or seven minutes in the sun to burn a promise-ring mark into my flesh.

That actually sounds a little unpleasant, so let me just treat you to the basics….

In that, basically, I took a cool picture of my Band-Aided hand next to a lamp.

And already I'm as bronze as a Mediterranean swimsuit model.

Written by mandudeman

April 27, 2011 at 6:10 am

Posted in Week 9: Promise

Leave a Reply

