Look at the blog, Larry. Just look at that blog.

This is gonna be about Band-Aids. It's pretty great.

#35. Don’t know much about philosophy…

leave a comment »

So for philosophy, my idea was to tie in Band-Aids… somehow… to ‘What a Wonderful World’ by Sam Cooke. Because, in my broken lopsided brain, philosophy was totally one of the subjects that Sam doesn’t know much about. He didn’t care about his studies. Just his lovin’.

Also it turns out the word ‘Philosophy’ is nowhere to be found in that song. Butttttttttttt… that’s ok. Because it got my brain thinkin’ bout philosophy, and I found me a new topic!

Gasp.

So this was the loopy stream-of-consciousness thought process that led me from Band-Aids to philosophy after Sam Cooke provided no help whatsoever.

(I choose not to edit the following paragraph because it feels more stream-of-consciousness-y).

My hand hurt. It hurt because I was playing keyboards the other day and took a whole bunch of skin off my finger (it happens- keyboards are more dangerous than you think). As per my usual brand of forgetfulness, I forgot to Band-Aid the finger in question and now it’s all scabby and gross (I’ll spare you the picture I could have taken of that). And then I started thinking about my earlier days playing the piano. Back when I was really good. REALLY good. Like, Kennedy Center/famous jazz clubs good. And I was playing this one place with my buddy Wendy. And before the show started she was grilling me with questions for… some reason. I’m not really sure why. But there were a lot. A lot. lot lot lot. of questions. Who’s your favorite pianist? What’s your favorite book? What’s your favorite bone in the human body? Who’s your favorite philosopher?

YES.

I remember this clearly. She actually asked me who my favorite philosopher was. She mentioned something about Plato being overrated (or underrated… or something), and all I could do to respond was shrug my shoulders and emit some monosyllabic grunt like the non-philosopher-knowing caveman I was.

A caveman with gross-looking cuts all over his fingers and knuckles. ‘Cuz this caveman didn’t remember to use any Band-Aids. Yes it’s a stretch. And yes, I don’t really care that much.

Written by mandudeman

April 18, 2011 at 4:13 pm

Leave a Reply

