Look at the blog, Larry. Just look at that blog.

This is gonna be about Band-Aids. It's pretty great.

#34. Totally awesome, hilarious title I can’t think of right now.

with one comment

Ok, so my idea for a blog post was to scour the internet (and my DVD collection) for a TV show I watch that has an episode with some form of the word ‘promise’ in the episode title. From there, I’d work that into something about Band-AidsThat didn’t work. I found episodes of Pokemon, Cold Case and Smallville, but none of those have enough… depth, I guess, for me to really wring something good out of ’em. There’s an episode of The Larry Sanders Show called ‘Promise,’ but I tried to work Band-Aids into that and ended up with absolutely nothing worth sharing with the world.

But then a spark went off in my brain- There’s a song called Broken Promises, that I’m pretty sure was used in The Big Lebowski. I could totally make a post out of that.

Turns out, I was thinking of a song called Dead Flowers. Noooooo connection whatsoever to the word ‘broken’ or the word ‘promise.’ At this point my brain was starting to hurt. So I figured I’d just write something about my total inability to come up with an idea for ‘promise,’ and eventually I’d have enough material to make a half-assed blog post with.

I’ve hit 200 words already, and there’s almost nothing of value whatsoever in the words I’ve written above. Nothing really linking Band-Aids to promises, and at this point my brain’s starting to unravel as I ponder just what promises a Band-Aid holds.

Technically, it can’t really ‘promise’ anything, right? i mean, if Johnson & Johnson promised that Band-Aids could prevent infection, there’d have to be a few cases where that didn’t happen, and at that point it’d be lawsuit time. This is America, after all. I guess there’s some implicit promise that when you use a Band-Aid, you’ll be reminded of when a loving parent soothed some horrible cut or poke or scrape. Other than that, though… I got nothing.

Written by mandudeman

April 13, 2011 at 7:02 pm

Posted in Week 9: Promise

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow…this is probably the funniest blog I’ve seen today! I can totally relate about the whole bandaid promise thing. All i know is that after this project 54 I PROMISE TO NEVER LOOK AT BANDAIDS AGAIN lol!

    Liesel

    April 14, 2011 at 12:39 am


Leave a Reply

