Look at the blog, Larry. Just look at that blog.

This is gonna be about Band-Aids. It's pretty great.

#26. My apologies to Ving Rhames. And any other peripheral Rhameses. I’m just really, really sorry.

leave a comment »

I’m trying to make this another ‘art-heavy, less-talky’ kind ‘o’ post. So here’s to me keeping the word count on the short side.

Alright, how many of you have seen Pulp Fiction?

Really?

That many?

Wow. more than I figured. Anywho, since you’ve all seen it, you know that the movie plays with time pretty frequently, to the point where we (the viewer) are switching around to points where certain people are alive, and then BLAMMO they’ve been murdered but then BLAMMO suddenly we’re back in the past and everything’s cool bananas again.

Now, one of the key ingredients in all three of the main stories in Pulp Fiction is the cool-as-a-cucumber-if-slightly-bulky-at-times presence of Ving Rhames’ character, Marcellus Wallace.

AND, at one point, Wallace has a magic Band-Aid on the back of his head. It’s never explained. Some theories say it’s covering the hole where his soul was extracted, and the suitcase that Samuel L. Jackson and John Travolta are shlepping around actually contains the soul in question.

I don’t know for sure.

But what I do know is that there’s a magic Band-Aid that plays with time in films. And I tried to draw it.

Now, I’m not really what you’d call a… “talented” artist, but I gave it my best. I even tried some shading, and added in the blurry background Bruce Willis. I’m not sure how you draw blurry-ness, so I just used a combination of squigglies and other sqigglies.

Here’s the real deal:

In all his stocky glory.

And here’s my version. Enjoy.

In all of his crudely-drawn, still-a-little-stocky glory.

Written by mandudeman

March 22, 2011 at 6:16 am

Posted in Week 6: Time

Leave a Reply

