Look at the blog, Larry. Just look at that blog.

This is gonna be about Band-Aids. It's pretty great.

#17. Siblings sure are fun to pester. To pester about Band-Aids.

leave a comment »

Tonight sure is catch-up night, huh. Well here’s a late-entry culture one for ya.

What’s more important in terms of culture than Los Angeles?
And what’s more important in Los Angeles than food culture?

If your answer is ‘a lot of things,’ well, you’re probably right. But I have a real live sister out there in LA, so here’s my exclusive interview with her. About food culture. And Band-Aids. She hurt her hand cutting an avocado. Enjoy.

Me (Adam): So food culture’s pretty big in LA. Avocados are a big part of that, right?

Her (Rebecca): Avocados show up… pretty much everywhere. They show up at breakfast. They show up at lunch, on sandwiches. Sometimes they show up in dessert, on weird ice cream. They’re always in season… it never really gets that cold.

A: Ok, so tell me about the actual cutting-of-your-hand incedent.

R: Well, I was using one of those serrated steak knives, but really, that was stupid, because you don’t need anything thaaaat sharp. And I wanted to poke it into the pit, but instead poked it into my hand. The knife slipped off the edge of the pit-it’s hard, it kind of bounced off.

A: And when that first happened… you used a Band-Aid?

R: Well first I used a paper towel, which I squeezed on the cut to stop the bleeding while I called Dad, as though he was going to help. While I was on the phone with Dad, I thought no one was home, and I was dripping blood all over the kitchen, and one of my roommates popped her head out of her room with a ‘what’s going on?’ And then I didn’t want to go deal with this, but she did- it looked really gross. She drove me to the doctor. Then as the bleeding stopped I thought I’d put a regular Band-Aid on it. Which I did… but I was afraid of tetanus, so I ended up having to go and get stitches.

A: So tell me about getting the stitches.

R: Well, I said I didn’t think I needed any, and the doctor replied ‘yes you do,’ so he ended up giving me three. But then I had to keep Neosporin on the stitches, and I had to use a Band-Aid to keep the Neosporin in place. It was just a regular Band-Aid.

A: So is that basically the whole story?

R: That’s pretty much what happened. But then later on we went to the beach, so I had to get a bunch of different Band-Aids. I literally spent fifteen minutes in the CVS standing there and looking at all the different kinds, because if you’re in the market for a different kind of Band-Aid you have to choose between waterproof, antibiotic, sterile, ginormous, storebrand, namebrand, latex, cloth, and it’s really difficult to make those decisions when your hand is throbbing like it’s about to fall off. Even after I stopped using the Neosporin on it, I still kept the Band-Aids over the stitches so people wouldn’t, you know, think I was some kind of freak. People don’t ask questions about Band-Aids, but they do ask questions about big black shiny stitches.

 

Honestly this was actually kind of fun. Especially trying to decipher my own poorly-typed shorthand notes after she had finished talking. That was definitely the best part.

Written by mandudeman

March 2, 2011 at 7:30 am

Posted in Week 4: Culture

Leave a Reply

