Look at the blog, Larry. Just look at that blog.

This is gonna be about Band-Aids. It's pretty great.

#16. Stealing ideas from class is a great way to boost my self-esteem.

leave a comment »

I’m sure all of you remember that exercise we did in class last week. With new perspectives? New perspectives… on Band-Aids? No? Well, ok then. I guess this idea just came to me with no outside influences whatsoever. Yeah, that’s believable.

So, hypothetically, if one were to try to imagine things from the perspective of Band-Aids (on the shelf, in the store, in the factory, on the patio, in the car, or on the boat), what’s a perspective that’s a little farther outside the box? A perspective both new and different, that could shine a shining light on a shine-less Band-Aid stage? Something I was thinking of in class but then opted out of raising my hand so I could use it to fill up one more blog post?

That third one sounds right.

So let’s begin our story with a lone Band-Aid. I call him Bandy. Now, Bandy’s a precocious little scamp, but he doesn’t have a friend in the world. Not a single solitary soul to call on the phone, or carpool with to work, or even watch The Big Bang Theory with. No one. I guess you could say his SOCIAL interactions are very limited, in a SOCIAL sense (subtlety is not my strong suit).

But why, Bandy? Why are you so alone? What sets you apart from everyone else? How come other Band-Aids have five or six hundred facebook friends (all other Band-Aids, of course) while you only have eight?

There’s a reason, of course. Bandy’s no ordinary Band-Aid. He’s not hermetically sealed in a little white box, just waiting to help prevent all kinds of infection. He sits alone.

At the bottom of a swimming pool.

YEAH. Gross, huh. The slightest of shudders ripples through me when I imagine a swimming pool Band-Aid brushing up against my leg. The hair on my arms stood up just from typing that. It doesn’t matter if I care for Bandy. I may even love him. But swimming pool Band-Aids are waaaaaay too icky for me to ever do anything about Bandy’s plight. I guess he’ll just be alone forever.

Just assume my shower is an olympic-sized swimming pool. It's what I do every night.

Oh and for the record, that’s not actually an old used Band-Aid. It was a new one I put on for half a second to make it the right shape. I’m not a monster.

Written by mandudeman

March 2, 2011 at 6:40 am

Posted in Week 5: Social

Leave a Reply

