Look at the blog, Larry. Just look at that blog.

This is gonna be about Band-Aids. It's pretty great.

#9 When you have a ribeye steak- You must blog it. Oh that meatloaf tasted great- You must blog it.

leave a comment »

Blog it. Blog it good.

Who wants some nostalgia? YOU want some nostalgia.

Yeah, that’s a decent enough way to start this post. Let’s continue, shall we?

So as a preface to this particular set of inane ramblings, you should know that I felt absolutely, skull-crushingly awful last night. That tends to happen when I get ninety minutes of sleep because I was up all night doing a POL/SCI paper, and then had a full day of class and a basketball game (for those not in the know, I play in the pep band. It’s as fun/goofy/stupid/hilariously cruel as it sounds). So, by the end of said basketball game,  I was so exhausted I could barely move my arms/legs, but still had to carry a shit-ton of equipment back to my car, then to my apartment, then up three flights of stairs. At that point I legitimately thought I was going to pass out and die. Oh and I should mention that I found myself steadily gaining more and more cold symptoms as the basketball game went on. Not sneezing, or coughing, mind you, but more like the chills, headache, backache, nausea, disorientation- that kind ‘o’ stuff. So there’s that.

Now, as the basketball game went on, a little voice started going off in the back of my head saying ‘soup soup soup soup,’ so I figured the best way to shut it up was, well… soup. But not just any soup. And here’s where the nostalgia comes pouring in.

My favoritest favoritest restaurant, is without a doubt, this Chinese place I would always go to as a kid. The Peking Gourmet Inn. You should go there. It’s great. It’s one of those places that’s so good and such a fond memory from my sweet, innocent youth that every time I eat Chinese food I get a little bit of that comforting Peking Gourmet feeling. Just a smidge, anyway.

Now it might have just been my disease-addled brain, but as I spent a large part of the game trying to brainstorm Band-Aid ideas, and the other part thinking about soup (specifically, wonton soup from the Peking Gourmet- tying those last few paragraphs together in the nick of time), the two became interchangeable in my head.

 

People eat soup when they feel sick.

People use Band-Aids when they’re hurt.

Soup makes people feel better.

Band-Aids make people feel better.

Soup and Band-Aids are basically the same thing!

 

Now, this logic is reallllllly stretching it, but you have to remember that, at the time, I was a hair’s breadth away from puking myself into a coma. Just keep that in mind. But then an idea popped into my head. An idea that would forever intermingle wonton soup and Band-Aids into one all-knowing, all-healing god of sick-make-better. I saw all the pieces fitting together in my head. I ran (drove) to the Kroger. Grabbed like three boxes of Band-Aids in different shapes. Called up the only Chinese place I know that will deliver food at 10:30 at night. And then it happened.

Granted, my wonton-folding skills are shoddy at best, but you get the idea.

Band-Aid wontons.

And do you know what the best part of the story is? After I took that picture I inhaled that entire thing of soup and passed out for 11 hours.

Feels good. Feels really good.

Written by mandudeman

February 16, 2011 at 3:00 pm

Posted in Week 2: Nostalgia

Leave a Reply

