Look at the blog, Larry. Just look at that blog.

This is gonna be about Band-Aids. It's pretty great.

Post #8. I’m about to take a nap. I apologize that this title is in no way clever or interesting.

leave a comment »

I’m gonna start this entry with my first official attempt to do my work on time. Surprising, I know. But I figure doing these blog posts in the last three days before class is, technically, more punctual than doing them all the night before. Just got to take baby steps. Baaaaaaaaby steps.

So this particular post is an idea I had right at the start of this blog. It may even have been the first idea that popped into my brain when this blog idea first came into play. And in all honesty, it’s the first thing I think of when I try to link Band-Aids to anything remotely personal.

Now, you’re probably asking yourself- “well, if it’s so great, why didn’t you write about it already?” And there’s a two-pronged answer to that question. Answer #1- if you’re actually asking that, chances are you’re kind of a smarmy asshole, because it’s a totally useless hypothetical question I’m just adding in to pad out the introduction to this blog post. And Answer #2- I was waiting for just the right moment, when I had run out of every other idea, to use this oldie but goodie. So here we go.

Now, I don’t know about you, anonymous blog reader, but I tend to get a little homesick sometimes. And one of the all-time, #1 hits at the top of the homesickness charts would be those first few weeks of college. Hoo boy. Especially considering that my original ‘being dropped off at college by my parents’ moment was kind of awkward- we went to a Chipotle, but just got soda, and I didn’t really know what to say and wanted to go off with my friends but didn’t want to leave my parents abruptly but kinda did and in hindsight was kiiiiind of a dick. I’ve actually written an entire Focused Inquiry paper based on the content of that run-on sentence. It was pretty great.

But there’s always that one little insignificant thing that ends up being faaaar more important than you’d think. And in this case, that particular insignificant thing was a care package my dad had made me and put in my suitcase the night before we left. I still remember him telling me everything he had put into a little tupperware tub. Advil. Allergy pills. Some gauze, maybe (the details are a little fuzzier in my head than I’d led you to believe). And a half-empty box of Band-Aids.

Now, at the time, I had a billion things on my mind, and honestly, I didn’t really care too much about the exact details of what was in that tupperware googaw. But take that jerk-faced about-to-leave-for-college apathy and fast-forward it a few weeks when I’m still not really adjusted to college life and I have a pretty bad headache. So I reach for said care package. I’m halfway through grabbing the Advil bottle when the Band-Aid box catches my eye. In an instant, all the little details unfold in my mind. I can see my dad rummaging through the house, looking for anything I might need in my dorm room. I can see him eyeing the Band-Aids. I can see him thinking “Adam might cut his finger on something- better give him a couple. You never know.” And those Band-Aids are still in the medicine cabinet in my new place, long after I moved out of Johnson Hall. I still think about that every time I see them. And in all honesty, Johnson Hall had this horrible putrid chemical smell that still haunts me to this day and I’m really glad I never have to go back there.

EDIT #1: Ok so apparently I used all the Band-Aids from that old care package and threw out the box in a fit of carelessness. The overall idea still stands, though.

 

Just imagine I never threw them out and that whole point of this entry is still intact.

EDIT #2: Ok so apparently I forgot to upload this and left it on my computer for a day or two. So when you see ‘the last three days before class…’ just imagine me writing it a few days before I actually posted the damn thing.

 

Written by mandudeman

February 15, 2011 at 6:58 pm

Posted in Week 2: Nostalgia

Leave a Reply

