Look at the blog, Larry. Just look at that blog.

This is gonna be about Band-Aids. It's pretty great.

Post #6. Go time’s been gone for some time now.

leave a comment »

Aaaaand here we go.

Well, I need nostalgia. And I need Band-Aids. And as far as I can tell, the simplest way to combine these two ingredients would be those really awesome Band-Aids from my childhood that had dinosaurs on them. They made getting injured fun!

No seriously, they did. Well… sort of. I was always a super-sensitive kid, but there was definitely some kind of coolness factor in having dinosaurs anywhere on my person. Plus the Band-Aid was like a badge of honor, if you over-think things waaaaay too much. And since I’ve run that idea into the ground after like seven sentences, let’s move on, shall we?

So I assumed that they still make Band-Aids especially for kids, and after a little on-line research, it turns out they do. This isn’t exactly a topic that’s being disputed… like at all, but I figured I should check just in case some freak industrial accident destroyed the world’s supply of cartoon character Band-Aids and then I spend this whole blog post talking out of my ass. Not that I wouldn’t end up doing that anyway. But back to the topic at hand- This whole ‘nostalgic Band-Aid’ thing got me a-thinkin’ and a-thunkin’ about how long ago people started using Band-Aids that were fun for kids (mostly because the Band-Aids on the market now are all Peanuts and Barbie and Spiderman- apart from Spongebob and Dora the Explorer we’re talking about some fairly old properties).

So onward to the Wikipedia page for Band-Aids! From there we’ve got 1951 as the first ever date of decorative Band-Aids, but that source isn’t cited, so to hell with that.

So onward to BandAid.com! And yeah, 1951 was apparently the year multi-colored Band-Aids were introduced to the world.

But that’s not really enough for me to be satisfied with this blog entry, so let’s get one more pony in this pony show. Specifically the pony of my dad (ok let’s drop the pony metaphor here- I called my dad. On the phone. There weren’t actually any ponies). Considering he was born in 1951 (would he take offense to me putting his age up here? Ahhhhh screw it too late), he’s the perfect age to field all my Band-Aid related questions.

Well, one phone call later I’ve been enlightened. Not only did my dad remember using the multi-colored ones first introduced in 1951 (thank you BandAid.com), but he and a friend of his from work both remember using Flintstones Band-Aids too. So there you have it. Not only am I fondly remembering the dinosaur bandages that defined my childhood (my dad remembered those too, by the way) but I’m also sending at least two other people into the open-armed warmth and fuzziness of Band-Aid related nostalgia. And that’s pretty great.

 

Written by mandudeman

February 9, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Posted in Week 2: Nostalgia

Leave a Reply

