Look at the blog, Larry. Just look at that blog.

This is gonna be about Band-Aids. It's pretty great.

Five. Post number five. This is not my finest hour…

with 2 comments

Well, loyal readers (reader? There’s gotta be at least two people reading this thing), I’ve come to a standstill. I’m… not exactly 100% sure if I need to include a visual aspect to this blog. All of the examples we saw in class were pretty visually intensive, except for some brave soul who wrote a haiku.  I’m not really into haikus, though. Chances are, this blog will be full of ‘em in about four or five weeks, but for right now I’m keeping myself both dignified and totally haiku-free. But in terms of visuals, I’ve got a camera now. So I’ll be filling this thing up with pictures in no time. Just not this entry. I’ve got about an hour before class starts and I guarantee you I’d spend most of that hour trying to figure out how the camera works. So let’s not do that.

Ok there is nothing going on here. In my brain. Nothing. Normally I am amazing at school-stuff. I can write up something at the last minute, turn it in, and get decent grades (B’s at least) every time. Every. Single. Time. I never draw a total blank like this. So now I’m forced to compare my frustrated, self-hating anger to something with a Band-Aid so that I can desperately squeak by with five blog entries before class starts. This’ll work. I’m angry. It hurts that I can’t come up with something cohesive and well written. And if Band-Aids are supposed to be a comfort, or something that helps along the healing process, then Band-Aid blogging will (hopefully) help me cope with my pissed off-edness.

So here goes. I like to write. I like to know that every word I’ve picked fits perfectly with every other. I like knowing that the length of each sentence fits in perfectly with all the other sentences. This blog may not look like much, but I’ve spent upwards of two hours on most of these little story/essay doodles. This one I’m not editing. This one I’m not sparing a single second that could be used to add another sentence or two and pad out the length some more so that it looks like I’ve been doing more work. If there was a Band-Aid for this kind of pain, I could put it on my head, or my brain or eyeball or something and I would just have the drive to portion out my work in equal, easy-to-manage bits and pieces that would make this blog assignment both super easy and super-fun. There could be some kind of Band-Aid that would keep me from blasting out crappy half-assed homework assignments at… 3:45 PM before class.

Gotta keep going, though. Can’t not turn in an assignment. Maybe doing this’ll be healthy. Maybe by hashing out all of my deep-seated homework-related issues on some blog that a bunch of strangers will read will cure me! As if some magic Band-Aid got wrapped around my face and I’m no longer some horrible combination of slacker and anal retentive super-nerd. That’d be great.

 

Crap crap crap class is starting blog out.

Band-Aids.

 

Written by mandudeman

February 2, 2011 at 8:52 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Way to be honest about the situation though, maybe they’ll appreciate it.

    brunothekid

    February 8, 2011 at 10:24 pm

  2. I enjoy reading your stories, although I’m glad you’re going to start including pictures. I’m afraid I have the attention span of a gnat so visuals help reel me back in.

    Abby

    February 10, 2011 at 6:12 am


Leave a Reply

